31 Aug

The Four Goals of Life

Lissa Coffey

Lissa Coffey

Lissa Coffey

According to Vedic texts, there are four basic goals of human life.  The purpose of Ayurveda is to keep humanity healthy so that we can fully pursue these goals.  These goals are a fundamental part of our nature, but the attachment to these goals is what causes much of our problems.  When we can look at the highest purpose for each of these goals, and not overindulge, we can achieve the bliss that we seek.

-Kama means pleasure.  In its highest form, this is the pursuit of the preservation of life.  When kept in check, kama brings us joy.  We eat food that tastes good, as is good for us.  We maintain healthy relationships that feed our soul.

-Artha means prosperity.  In its highest form, this is the pursuit of what we need to thrive, no more and no less.  There is no need for waste or greed.  We know that accumulation does not bring happiness.

-Dharma means duty.  Dharma is our purpose in life, and we know we are in our dharma when we are doing what we love, and at the same time we are serving others.  This is how we use our talents to contribute to society.

-Moksha means liberation.  In its highest form, this is the pursuit of spiritual growth.  When we understand that we are on a spiritual journey in this lifetime, this motivates us further.

Share this