31 Aug

Dharana, Dhyana, and Samadhi

Lissa Coffey

Lissa Coffey

Lissa Coffey

We’re looking at the eight limbs of Ashtanga Yoga.  We’ve already gone through the first five, which are external practices.  These are the last three, which are internal practices. 

-Dharana is concentration.  The idea is to fix our attention on one focal point.  This helps us to gain equanimity, poise, and grace.

-Dhyana is meditation.  The purpose of meditation is to quiet the mind and open the heart.  In this way we become aware of our connection with the Divine.

-Samadhi is super-consciousness.  It is also called bliss, union, or enlightenment.  It is when we experience the presence of the Divine with our entire self, body mind and soul.

Share this